A Letter on Self-Worth

Dear Girls,

Before you stick your finger down your throat, before you consent, before you take one more piece of crap from the bitch, before you take that baring-all bathroom selfie, before you see that light, take a moment and think: what am I doing?

What are you doing must I ask? Are you trying to prove something? Are you crushing yourself down by saying “I’m worthless” or “I will be noticed and loved after I do this?”

Girls, do not do it. Do not call yourself worthless and do all these damaging things. Do not put that finger down your throat or expose yourself on social media for the wrong reasons. Why? You are worth it. You are loved. You are not invisible. You are a shining light, a burning fire.

Now, you may be thinking (or shouting), “you don’t understand” or “it’s complicated.” Just know that I do understand. I have been there. I have felt that dark cloud over my head, the walls closing in on me, the sinking feeling into the darkness. I know what it feels like losing everything that was once seen as permanent. I know what it feels like to have a bitch spit insult after insult in my face behind a smile for years. I know what it feels like to have extreme “bible-thumpers” act all high and mighty by pushing your worth and persona down. I know. You are indeed not alone.

Girls, do not listen to them. Do not listen to those insults, those nasty comments. Do not listen to the bitch who says you’re fat. Do not listen to the guy who says you’re a coward. Do not let them manipulate you. They envy you. Yes, they envy you. You are beautiful. You are intelligent. You are loved by family or friends, teachers or other students. You have a large capacity to love. You are talented. You are passionate or ambitious or just simply amazing. Yes girls, you are amazing.

Even if this letter did not work, just know that, whatever faith you hold, your God loves you. There is a plan for you and that plan is an amazing journey of love, strength and peace.

Sincerely,
A girl.

One thought on “A Letter on Self-Worth

Leave a Reply

